Brenden's Labyrinth
Brenden's Labyrinth
"The Self is an Illusion" with Annaka Harris and Lex Fridman
1
0:00
-28:57

"The Self is an Illusion" with Annaka Harris and Lex Fridman

But is it an illusion?
1

This is an episode of the podcast where I use this clipped discussion by the podcast Lex Fridman and the author of Conscious: A Brief Guide to the Fundamental Mystery of the Mind by Annaka Harris (partner of Sam Harris) to open a discussion around the self, the idea of it being an illusion, and our sense of will.

Anyway, I’ve always been hesitant in using the language of “illusion” around the sense of self, as I think it can have an unintended spiral effect that is not always helpful for the person coming into a certain “realization.”

Why?

The self is a default mode of being. The self is what we use to operate within the world. Our “self” is interacting with billions of other-selves…it might not always be best to call this an illusion, especially with our understanding of illusion in a modern context.

I discuss more in the episode:)


  • The self becomes you that is created by the subjective experiences of an individual.

  • The self exists in some essence and interacts with the universe and the world around us, thus it is constantly moving and flowing and being influenced by our inner state and the external reality. The self flows with the tides of experience.

“Our experience of consciousness is so intrinsic to who we are, we rarely notice that something mysterious is going on. Consciousness is experience itself, and it is therefore easy to miss the profound question staring us in the face in each moment: Why would any collection of matter in the universe be conscious?” — Annaka Harris

The clip the audio is from: here


A Philosopher’s Stone Letter

Stay curious,
Brenden

A Philosopher's Stone (Brenden's Labyrinth)
The Train of Despair | Does your favorite thinker, author, or book make you fall into despair? | The Despair After Our Illusions
Welcome, you wonderful multiplicity. For my full posts, dream exploration, weird stories, and if I’m helpful in leaving you with something to contemplate…subscribe to the full letter below! (It’s $5 a month, so if I provide you with the value of a cup of coffee every month…maybe give it a whirl. It also helps me keep my lights on…
Read more

1 Comment
Brenden's Labyrinth
Brenden's Labyrinth
Through this podcast, I hope to further my journey into ideas, philosophy, spirituality, psychedelics, and science by utilizing everything around us from our culture, myths, religions, films, tv shows, books, poetry, music…and anything else you can think of. My intention is to create a space to question our belief structures and present ideas through an entertaining, empowering, and thought-provoking method. I do this by explaining my own struggles, and interpretations, and bringing in information that has helped me make sense of this strange existence.
So, this public journal of mine is a personal experiment that I hope others find useful. I’m hoping my vulnerability is something you will be able to relate to. And then know you’re not alone in this confusing existence!